

United States Department of Agriculture

Office of the Secretary Washington, D.C. 20250

August 28, 2020

The Honorable Gretchen Whitmer Governor State of Michigan Lansing, Michigan 48909

Dear Governor Whitmer:

On July 17, 2020, the Michigan State Executive Director of the Farm Service Agency (FSA), U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA), requested a primary county disaster designation for Berrien, Cass, and Ottawa Counties, Michigan, due to damage and losses caused by freeze that occurred from April 14 through May 9, 2020.

USDA reviewed the Loss Assessment Reports and determined that there were sufficient production losses to warrant a Secretarial natural disaster designation. Therefore, I am designating Berrien, Cass, and Ottawa Counties, Michigan, as primary natural disaster areas.

In accordance with section 321(a) of the Consolidated Farm and Rural Development Act, Allegan, Kalamazoo, Kent, Muskegon, St. Joseph, and Van Buren Counties, Michigan, are named as contiguous disaster counties.

Also, in accordance with section 321(a) of the Consolidated Farm and Rural Development Act, Elkhart, LaPorte, and St. Joseph Counties, in the adjacent state of Indiana are named as contiguous disaster areas.

A Secretarial disaster designation makes farm operators in primary counties and those counties contiguous to such primary counties eligible to be considered for certain assistance from FSA, provided eligibility requirements are met. This assistance includes FSA emergency loans. Farmers in eligible counties have 8 months from the date of a Secretarial disaster declaration to apply for emergency loans. FSA considers each emergency loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of production losses on the farm and the security and repayment ability of the operator.

Local FSA offices can provide affected farmers with further information.

Sincerely,

Sonny Perdue Secretary

my fudue